Yassou (To Your Health): Poems on and in Greece

Naomi Matlow
4 min readOct 6, 2020
Kolonaki, Athens

Athens

I love the shapes your alphabet makes.

Parakalo, iced coffee.

Sygnomi, we both smiled behind our masks.

One September day at time.

Has it ever been more clear?

I wake up some days

Unsure what I’m doing here.

But then I smell your streets…

Where the trees make arches over sidewalks on purpose.

Where people of all ages walk miles uphill on the thinnest of sandals.

Where the gods once dwelled

And the myths were made.

Where asking questions became philosophy.

Where the mosquitos on my balcony have loved me more

Than I ever could myself.

It’s Buddhist philosophy by day,

Before Sunset by night,

With concern and contemplation in between.

But is there anything else?

In the city of stories

Where gods and mortals once fell in love.

Glyfada Beach, Athens

Glyfada

I like how people trust each other on the beach,

leaving their belongings under an umbrella in the sand

as they wade toward the depths of the sea,

eyes only on the horizon,

with their backs physically turned away from the shore.

As if everything we ever need

is already provided by nature itself,

far from the human made constraints of

money, telephones, and keys.

We wade into one giant salt bath of peaceful, living creatures

with the heaviness of our pockets’ contents

waiting for us on land

when the stillness is done.

Klima, Milos, Greece

Klima

May the sea be your playlist of the deepest music

anyone has ever known.

Like a fisherman at sunset,

may you experience the world

like it was created for your nourishment,

equally as much as your playground.

Mandrakia, Milos, Greece

Mandrakia

The sea will hypnotize you,

but let it.

The dead octopi are drying in the sun

as if to say,

“I’m not alive, but you are.”

The white of the walls, table legs, and pebbles beneath my feet

slightly burn my retinas

again to say,

“I’m not alive, but you are.”

I want to be as clear as water,

as pure as the painted concrete walls,

and as unassuming as the rocks jutting out

from the earth,

remains of past volcanic eruptions.

If disaster can cause such beauty.

what else is left to be known?

Plaka, Milos, Greece

Plaka (1)

I think I’d like to come back

as a chicken on a Greek island.

Looking out at the sea,

and spending days in the sun.

Dying while knowing

I was a nice meal for someone.

Plaka, Milos, Greece

Plaka (2)

I want to be a statue here.

I’d even take Venus.

Though armless,

all she needs are her eyes.

Pera Triovasalos, Milos, Greece

Pera Triovasalos

The no smoking sign is just a suggestion.

I too hope to drive a motorcycle when I’m 75,

like you.

Your slow walk and belted up trousers

remind me of my grandfather.

I wish he was here,

splitting this beer with me today.

Mom, I’d make sure he drinks his orange juice too.

Neither of us would be low on blood sugar,

or low on anything for that matter.

Ano Poli, Thessaloniki, Greece

Thessaloniki

Something about the sound

of playing backgammon in the afternoon.

About hand rolled cigarettes,

Macedonia,

and half broken Byzantine arches

that you can still pass through.

Something about a mermaid,

who was once Alexander the Great’s sister,

who this city is named for,

and who loved him.

Something about Jewish flourishing

turned to dust.

About Aristotle, wisdom, divine friendship, and the warm gulf.

History on history on history.

Something about the impermanence

and sacredness

of it all.

Mount Olympus, Greece

Mount Olympus

Maybe once upon a time

we mistook clouds for gods.

The jagged edges of your peaks

and the forest green of your valleys

demanded an explanation.

Everything started here.

--

--